The University of Evansville chapter of the American Association of University Professors was founded in the fall of 2020. It is a vibrant, highly active chapter that regularly holds meetings and events. The chapter’s membership consists of a diverse range of active and retired professors from across the university. All UE faculty members, part-time and full-time, are welcome to join the chapter.

The UE AAUP chapter supports the core mission of the AAUP. That mission is to:

  • Advance academic freedom and shared governance
  • Define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education
  • Promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post‐doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education
  • Help the higher education community organize to make the goals of the AAUP a reality
  • Ensure higher education’s contribution to the common good

The UE AAUP chapter is led by its Executive Council:

President — Jerrilee LaMar, Associate Professor of Nursing

Vice President — Joyce Stamm, Professor of Biology

Secretary-Treasurer — Daniel Byrne, Professor of History

Representative for Arts and Sciences — Alanna Keenan, Associate Professor of Music

Representative for Business — Rania Mousa, Associate Professor of Accounting                            

Representative for Education and Health Sciences — Gregg Wilson, Professor of Exercise and Sport Science

Representative for Engineering — David Unger, Professor of Mechanical and Civil Engineering 

Membership Director — James MacLeod, Professor of History

Chief Content Officer — Robert Baines, Associate Professor of English

For more information on the AAUP, you can visit its website at aaup.org.

If you are a current or retired faculty member of the University of Evansville and you wish to join the AAUP, you can do so here.

To contact the UE chapter of the AAUP, please e-mail ueaaup@gmail.com.